New Release | DAMN. by Kendrick Lamar

Allgemein, New Releases

YEP.

Kendrick Lamar’s new album DAMN. was released today and the internet is going crazy. While I do not listen to a lot of Hip Hop/Rap music, I try my best to be open to various genres and artists, which is why I decided to give Kendrick a shot. My thoughts? Kendrick 1 : 0 Jess. Let’s talk DAMN., shall we?

DAMN. Album Kendrick Lamar

Image via twitter.com/kendricklamar

I am listening to the album right now and all I can think about is how good the lyrics are. Rather than the music and rapping, it is the lyrics and messages of the songs that impress me the most. When I think of Kendrick, I picture this rapper whose music is critically acclaimed and worshipped. People are always on the edge of their seats, begging him to release more records. You immediately get the fear of missing out if you do not jump on the bandwagon. Therefore, what surprises me the most is how self-reflective his songs actually are. On each track he raps about something where I’m like ‘woah, is that really how he feels? why?’. You see, there is more to a person than their success and glory. Everybody has their own story to tell and Kendrick Lamar sure tells his on DAMN. Listening to his album is an experience that I can’t possibly put into words. Instead I will simply highlight my favorite lyrics and ask you to give him a chance (if you’ve been living under a rock like me) and try to take it all in. It’ll be worth it.

FEEL.

‘Look, I feel like I can’t breathe / Look, I feel like I can’t sleep / Look, I feel heartless, often off this / Feelin’ of fallin’, of fallin’ apart with / Darkest hours, lost it’

LOYALTY. feat. RIHANNA.

‘Been a bad bitch way before any cash came / I’m established / Hundred carats on my name, run the atlas / I’m a natural, I’m alright’

PRIDE.

‘I don’t trust people enough beyond the surface, world /  I don’t love people enough to put my faith in man’

HUMBLE.

‘I’m so fuckin’ sick and tired of the Photoshop / Show me somethin’ natural like afro on Richard Pryor / Show me somethin’ natural like ass with some stretch marks’

If you have already listened to DAMN., let me know what your favorite tracks are – I’m curious!

ps.: go to Genius for more lyrics.

2 thoughts on “New Release | DAMN. by Kendrick Lamar

  1. The story told at the end of Duckworth was the most amazing lyrical moment for me – the head of his record label tried to kill his dad years ago and now they’re working together!! Kendrick’s storytelling skills are incredible – if you haven’t heard To Pimp a Butterfly yet then I highly recommend it, the lyrics are even more fascinating 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment