Current Obsession | Tribulation by Matt Maeson

LOVE.

You know that feeling when your lips have been dry for hours and you forgot your lip balm at home so when you finally get home and put it on your lips you feel this overwhelming, yet comforting relief? Yeah, that’s the feeling I get when I listen to Tribulation by Matt Maeson.

who killed matt maeson ep artwork
Image via twitter.com/MattMaeson

When I listened to the song for the first time I was thinking to myself ‘Omg, who is this guy and how come I have never heard of him before?’. I instantly fell in love with the song because its message made me realize that I am not alone. There is someone out there who faces the same fears I do.
Tribulation, which can be found on his new 6-track EP Who Killed Matt Maeson, is a self-reflective song where the singer admits that he doubts himself and his ability to  love someone like he is supposed to (or at least that’s my interpretation). To me, the song is about being afraid of deeply loving someone and rather than facing our fears and insecurities, we push people away because we are convinced we do not know how love works. Here’s the thing, though: There is no textbook for how love is supposed to be handled. Each love is different in its own way and one of the worst things we can do is not giving it a shot because we think we are not worthy of love.

If I managed to make you even a tiny bit curious, then please make sure you listen to Tribulation. I added it to my Spring 2017 playlist! ♡ You should also check out the rest of Matt Maeson’s EP, because it’s really really good.

Leave a Reply

