Current Obsession | Praying by Kesha

HOLY MOLY.

After four years Kesha returned with a powerful song called Praying. I had no idea what to expect from the new record but after listening to it I have to admit that I am moved by this woman’s strength and courage to share her story with the world.

Kesha Praying Cover Artwork
Image via facebook.com/kesha

‘Well, you almost had me fooled / Told me I was nothing without you / Oh, but after everything you’ve done / I can thank you for how strong I have become.’

These are the first words of Kesha’s new ballad and I think it is safe to say that after fighting her demons she is back and ready to live the life she always deserved to have. I do not want to make any assumptions about what/who inspired this song or what she had been through the past years because I cannot possible image what her journey was like. Instead, I would like to talk about the elements that make this song so beautiful and powerful.

First of all, I like that the way she addresses the person who caused her so much pain is straight-forward yet subtle at the same time. While she does point out how she felt during that part of her life, she also makes sure she is perceived as a fighter and not a victim. She basically found a kind way to tell everyone that no one will ever mess around with her and her life ever again. Kesha created this sort of lyrical middle finger for everyone that brought her down.

‘I’ve been thrown out / I’ve been burned / When I’m finished, they won’t even know your name’

Second, I love how her vocal range unfolds throughout the song. Her voice is calm and ‘stable’ at the beginning but towards the end she belts out some extraterrestrial notes that give you chills on every inch of your body. I was totally in my zone and feeling the lyrics when Kesha decided to all of the sudden slap everyone her voice. And I’m just sitting here like ‘wait what omg her voice is amazing but is she gonna hit the note yea of course cause production and stuff but no her voice really is that good omg this is so perfect I’m gonna cry’.

Third, and this is my favorite thing about the song, instead of fully bashing whoever fought against her, she decided to be kind and forgiving. Okay, I actually have no idea if she really did forgive everyone who fooled her but I love that rather than praying for herself, she is praying for those who hurt her, used her and brought her down. THAT is the true meaning of strength. She saved herself from everything she had been through and instead of putting her opponent(s) through eternal misery, she prays for their souls to be saved. If that is what authentic, inner peace feels like then I want it too.

I am kindly asking you to listen to Kesha’s beautiful ballad Praying. She is a fighter and deserves to be heard. Her new album Rainbow is out August 11.

 

One thought on “Current Obsession | Praying by Kesha

Leave a Reply

