Concert | Shawn Mendes

ASDFJAKKSLDS.

Attention: The following blog post might contain some spoilers. Stop reading if you haven’t seen Shawn Mendes on his Illuminate World Tour yet. I don’t want to ruin the experience for you.

Last night I finally saw Shawn Mendes perform live in Vienna and if you follow me on social media you might have seen some of my videos where I completely lost my shit (and voice).
He kicked off the show with There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back, which is a new song he added to his album Illuminate. Since people were familiar with his previous music I though it was a cool idea to add something new to the show. It felt like a ‘fresh start’ before he continued to play music that people knew all too well. The setlist was made up of 18 full-length songs, one medley and one cover. He sang the chorus of Castle On The Hill by Ed Sheeran, which I definitely was not ready for. Listening to one of your favorite artists cover one of your other favorite artists’ song = WIN.

My favorite thing was hands down the B stage, where he performed a couple songs on his piano and guitar. Everybody got off their seats and ran to the stage, which was actually quite funny to watch. The reason the B stage was so beautiful is because there was a giant white ball hanging from the ceiling and the various visuals made it look like  Shawn was standing beneath the moon. It was definitely one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen at a show – simple yet breathtaking. I also loved that he performed a song without his instruments (I believe it was Roses), which was quite unusual as he’s always behind his piano or guitar. However, I sill enjoyed it because that gave him the chance to walk around on stage and really face the entire audience.

The only thing that annoyed me was when people were screaming at the top of their lungs while Shawn was trying to explain the meaning of certain songs and why he wrote them in the first place. I don’t know about you guys but I genuinely enjoy moments where artists take a few minutes to have a conversation with the audience and I thought it was really rude of people to interrupt him like that. Other than that I truly enjoyed every single moment and I cannot wait to see him again. He is an amazing artist and I love that he constantly pushes himself to get better (let that be songwriting, singing,…). I’m happy I finally saw him perform live ♡.

Shawn Mendes was supported by the amazing James TW. Sadly, I missed most of his set and only heard the last three or four songs BUT I enjoyed them very much. The crowd was very supportive and cheerful, which James actually took a video of (I love when singers do that hehe). My favorite songs were When You Love Someone and Different ♡. Please make sure you check out his music!

Here are some photos of last night:

James TW in Vienna Illuminate Tour
James TW | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Shawn Mendes in Vienna Illuminate Tour
Shawn Mendes | © Viktoria Haßl
Shawn Mendes in Vienna Illuminate Tour
Shawn Mendes | © Viktoria Haßl
Shawn Mendes in Vienna Illuminate Tour
Shawn Mendes | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Leave a Reply

