Review | Quit by Cashmere Cat feat. Ariana Grande

LOVE.

A few seconds in and I’m head over heels. Cashmere Cat released a new album called 9, which includes Quit, a track featuring Ariana Grande. Do I need to say more?

FullSizeRender-3
Image via instagram.com/cashmerecat

When I found out that these two artists recorded another song together and I got very excited because for some reason I had a feeling that I would end up loving it. It’s one of those things you cannot really explain, because you simply know it in your heart.

The song is about being in love with someone who is toxic and probably not relationship material but no matter how often your friends try to talk you out of it, you just can’t stop being drawn to that person. It’s a captivating story about a relationship that shouldn’t happen but it does anyway. The lyrics are very well-written and perfectly depict the various feelings of knowing that you’re going to regret giving in but not being able to resist – it’s a tug-of-war, which can be felt deeply through the verses.

Finally, what I think makes the song even more perfect is, of course, Ariana Grande’s voice. She took a step back from belting out those extraterrestrial high notes we are used to hearing from her and approached this song in a more laid-back style (if that makes any sense). I specifically love the way she decided to accentuate certain words in the verses, as it adds more character to the song. If I had to visualize this style, I would probably go for: ~~~~~ (don’t worry if you don’t get it. some things make sense in my head only.)

What are your thoughts on the song? I think it’s definitely worth a listen! Head over to my playlist on Spotify and check it out:

 

Leave a Reply

