Concert | Bastille

FINALLY.

Attention: The following blog post might contain some spoilers. Stop reading if you haven’t seen Bastille on their Wild Wild World tour yet. I don’t want to ruin the experience for you.

I SAW BASTILLE. I SAW BASTILLE. I SAW BASTILLE.
I have been a fan of the band ever since I heard Things We Lost In The Fire on The Vampire Diaries in Season 4. On February 8, 2017 they played their first proper show in Vienna, which was a dream come true. I watched countless videos of them online so to finally see them right in front of me was quite surreal but VERY fun. However, I decided to not talk about how amazing and fantastic and incredible the show was because that is probably what you expect from Bastille anyway. Instead, I am going to share my favorite parts with you, the ones that you could not possibly rehearse because every show has its unique moments.

These were my top five:

No. 1: Prior to the show my friend Kamila and I talked about our favorite songs from the new album and hers was Warmth. Luckily, the band played the song and when they sang Hold me in this wild, wild world / cause in your warmth I forget how cold it can be, my friend suddenly hugged me, which I thought was a very cute moment.

No. 2: The band let us pick between Anchor and Power. The latter one was stuck in my head the entire day so of course I screamed at the top of my lungs – and Anchor won… Dear Bastille, you owe me some new vocal chords. Thank you.

No. 3: A girl standing in the front row was holding up a sign saying ‘Can I sing The Draw with you?’. Dan promised her she would get to sing the second verse, which I actually thought was just a joke but after he finished the chorus he went off stage and let her sing. THAT WAS SUCH A COOL THING TO DO.

No. 4: Dan was saved by a security guard from falling down the gallery seating area. Will was clearly third wheeling in that situation.

No. 5: Charlie Barnes’ dance moves.

Bastille was supported by two bands: Frenship and Rationale.
Unfortunately, I missed most of Frenship’s set because we were let into the venue way too late. I walked in when they were finishing Capsize, which I was actually really looking forward to. However, I heard their new song 1000 Nights in full-length and I enjoyed it a lot!
The second support act was Rationale. I was pleasantly surprised by their energy and I absolutely loved their interaction with the crowd. My favorite songs were Something For Nothing and Fuel To The Fire.

Frenship live in Vienna
Frenship | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Rationale live in Vienna
Rationale | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Bastille live in Vienna
Bastille | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Bastille live in Vienna
Bastille | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Leave a Reply

