Review | Music in 2016

BYE.

Well, that was fast. I remember the first blog post of this year like it was yesterday and now 2016 is officially coming to an end. The past months have been a political mess, if you ask me, and I truly hope that in 2017 we will get to experience more love and positivity.

But enough of all this sad talk! We should thank music for bringing lightness and joy into our heavy hearts. To me, 2016 was not only a year of comebacks but it also gave some under-the-radar-artists to come to the surface and introduce themselves to the masses.

Here are some of my musical highlights of 2016:

First off, we have Queen B who just keeps slaying. I mean seriously, is there anything she can’t do? *insert lemonade emoji here*

Drake released his album in April, just like Queen B, and it’s probably my favorite record of his so far. One Dance got everyone’s body poppin this year and if you’re denying it, you’re a fool.

One of the best bands ever, Coldplay, went on a stadium tour and while I have not seen them perform live, I am still in love with their stage production. It’s GORGEOUS.

Shawn Mendes, my beloved cutie pie, released his second album Illuminate this year and it perfectly shows how much he has grown as a person and an artist. Lights On is my favorite track!

In my last year’s review I told you to keep an eye out for Alessia Cara. I hope you listened to me because she definitely killed it this year.

Let’s continue with the girl power, shall we? Both, Ariana Grande and Alicia Keys have re-invented their sound and deserve a pink unicorn for their achievements.

RIHANNA.

Twenty One Pilots were probably the biggest surprise this year. I have been listening to their music for a few years now and I cannot tell you how happy I am about their success. Also, I saw them live and it was hands down one of the best shows I have ever been to.

Troye Sivan is one of my favorite artists of 2016. His music is so special and unique, and it is nice to listen to songs with an important message. I still can’t believe he came to Vienna.

Some collaborations work out, some don’t. Major Lazor and The Chainsmokers know how it’s done, because I feel like everything they touched turned to gold this year.

Noah Cyrus. Did anyone see her coming? I was very surprised and I cannot wait to hear more from her in the future.

Well, there you have it. These are some artists who I feel like have been killing it this year. Some of my non-mainstream favorites include Banks, Niykee Heaton and MAX but these are just a few. Who have you been listening to these past months? Did you like what you heard on the radio or do you have some secret faves? I’m curious!

HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYBODY 🙂

Leave a Reply

