Concert | SCO + The Oceans

HEY.

A few days ago, my dear friend Carmen invited me to the release party of SCO‘s new single Tell Them. I had not heard of them before the show but I was very excited to get to know the Austrian music scene a little bit better:

SCO is an Alternative/Indie band from Lower Austria, who released their first EP called Intro earlier this year. The six-track record gives you a great idea of where the band is headed music-wise and it is even clearer now that they released their brand new single Tell Them. This past year has been an example of how to not handle certain political situations and what can happen if people stand against each other, instead of joining forces in the name of love and peace. The world is in desperate need of heroes, which is exactly what SCO’s new single Tell Them is trying to make people be more aware of. Where are the heroes when we need one is the lyric that stands out most in the song and it’s also the part that moved the crowd at the concert. You might think that the new single was the last song they played, but the fans were so hyped that they kept demanding an encore. They immediately agreed on Souls, which is featured on the EP and what happened then was this whole your-wish-is-our-command-thing because the band did, indeed, play Souls a second time just for the fans. Isn’t that cool? I wish more bands were down to playing encores picked by fans. To me, it showed how much SCO enjoyed engaging with the crowd which earned them some major points on my sympathy list. I have to admit that the band put on an amazing show. The set was enjoyable, the crowd was hyped and the band sounded amazing. I even got to say hi to Paris, the lead singer of the band, which made me feel more important than I am.

While the highlight of the evening was SCO’s single release, I need to talk to you a little bit about another band that played an hour long set before them. They are called The Oceans and they are form my favorite Austrian city: Salzburg (yes, I am already stalking all of their social media platforms). The band truly knows how to motivate people to rock out to their music and I was really impressed by the guys’ engagement with the crowd, which was totally down to having a great evening. I had not heard of The Oceans before the show, but you know my motto: everybody deserves the chance of being heard, no matter how big or popular a band is. It didn’t take long until I had discovered my favorite song, which is called Oh Soul. My personal highlight of their set, however, was when they covered Kings of Leon’s Use Somebody. I think that performing covers is always a great way to loosen up the crowd and make them feel comfortable. My second highlight was when the band played Merry Christmas Everyone. I admit that my Christmas feelings are still stuck in traffic somewhere but even I was moved by all the joy that was spread during that performance. The band even put on santa hats, which showed that it’s okay to be a little bit silly sometimes – even if you’re on stage.

Both, SCO and The Oceans, put on an amazing show and I had a great time. Here are some photos of that evening:

SCO-Tell-Them-Single-Release-Aera-Wien
SCO | © Carmen Lenzeder
SCO-Tell-Them-Single-Release-Aera-Wien
SCO | © Carmen Lenzeder
The Oceans-Concert-Aera-Wien
The Oceans | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
The Oceans-Concert-Aera-Wien
The Oceans | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

Leave a Reply

