Concert | twenty one pilots

|-/

Attention: The following blog post might contain some spoilers. Stop reading if you haven’t seen twenty one pilots on their Emotional Roadshow world tour yet. I don’t want to ruin the experience for you.

Uhm, I genuinely don’t know where to start. Holy freaking shit. I knew that Josh and Tyler would put on one hell of a show, but they totally exceeded my expectations.

Let’s begin with the fact that the band was punctual, which might not seem like a big deal at first but when fans are squeezed together like sardines, you do really appreciate the gesture. The show lasted for solid two hours and they played a nice mix of their recent hits (e.g. Stressed Out, Ride) as well as fan favorites (e.g. Car Radio, House of Gold). The majority of the songs were from their latest album, Blurryface, but they did also surprise  us with songs, which came out a long time ago. What made me really happy was that the audience was filled with people who have clearly been listening to the band’s music for years. They knew every lyric and supported Tyler vocally throughout the entire show.

One of the things that made me love this concert more than others was the band’s interaction with the crowd. There were at least four times where both, Tyler and Josh left the main stage and showed up in the crowd. At one point, Josh moved his drum set from the stage to crowd, meaning that the fans were lifting him up so that he could play the drums. HOW. COOL. IS. THAT. Tyler, on the other hand, climbed into a huge red ball and literally walked on top of the crowd. I MEAN COME ON. If that’s not cool then I don’t know what is. My favorite moment, however, was when Tyler stopped the show and asked security to remove a couple people from the first row, because they didn’t line up. This is what he said: “These like six people in the front, I know you guys didn’t wait in line for the show. I can just tell by looking at you (…) It’s alright, you can still check out the show, I just need you in the second row because I want to see our fans who’ve been waiting all day in the front row.” That was hands down one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen at a concert. It really showed how much the band cares about their fans and that they want them to have the best experience ever.

Before I end this blog post, I would also like to talk about Bry, an Irish singer, who’s been supporting twenty one pilots on this tour. Oh. My. God. He was definitely one of the best support acts I have ever seen. He had a really cute way of interacting with the crowd and his performance was amazing too. The audience was very supportive of him and made him feel welcome. His self-titled debut album comes out this Friday, November 11 and I cannot wait! You’ll love it, I promise.

img_1884
Bry | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
img_2003
twenty one pilots | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
img_1944
random guy in front of me | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

ps.: you can use my super non-professional photos as long as you give me some credit!

|-/

Leave a Reply

