Review | The Art of Escape by Hein Cooper

HI.

Okay, first off: please don’t hate me. I meant to write this review months ago but for some reason I didn’t feel like it… until now! I am going to attempt to sum up my thoughts about Hein Cooper’s debut album The Art of Escape:

Hein-Cooper-The-Art-of-Escape-Debut-Album
Image via facebook.com/heincoopermusic

I discovered Hein Cooper back in May when I won tickets to see Sunset Sons in Vienna. Hein was supporting them on tour and I had never heard of him before so I had no expectations of his set whatsoever but I was excited nonetheless. You could tell that he was a little bit nervous, especially after his laptop decided to shut down for a second, but he put on a great show afterwards and his music was stuck in my head while Sunset Sons were playing their set. I decided to give him a shot and bought his debut album after he finished playing (I even got a chance to chat with him and oooooomg, he’s SO handsome). Here’s what I think of it:

The Art of Escape is a record that really allows you to forget everything that might be bothering you and simply enjoy wonderful music by living in the moment. It’s a melancholic, heartfelt and honest record that is very well-written. The lyrics definitely make you feel everything he’s feeling and they enable you to open up and let it all in: the pain, the joy, the fear, the thoughts – everything. One of my favorite parts is when sings ‘I don’t know what it feels like to have my heart broken first’ in Curse My Life. It is such a beautiful, heartbreaking and relatable lyric and it forces you to go back in time and relive that certain moment/emotion.

If you are a fan of raw, honest music with a hint of tenderness and melancholy then I think you will love this record. If you have no idea what I am talking about because, unlike Hein, I’m not good with words then please give this record a chance and let it put a spell on you just like it did on me. My favorite songs are The Art of Escape, Rusty, Curse My Life and Water : ).

DSCN2117.JPG
Hein Cooper | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

Leave a Reply

