Review | SZIGET 2016

GUYS.

As some of you may know I went to SZIGET Festival in Budapest. I went there on my own (!) and enjoyed every second of it. The festival was put together incredibly well and the line-up was just as good as that of highly praised festivals like Glastonbury or Lollapalooza. There were a lot of amazing artists that I wanted to see but the schedule was quite tight so I did not have time to go to everyone’s set. These are the ones I ended up seeing:

Years & Years – The Neighbourhood – Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – SIA

Let’s start off by saying that every show was fun in its own way. The artists are very different from each other and so is their music. I enjoyed each set for various reasons, which I will gladly share with you:

Years & Years 

It was my second time seeing the band perform so I already knew they would put on a great show. The crowd went absolutely crazy when they kicked off their set with Take Shelter and stayed energetic throughout the entire show. Olly was in a great mood, busting  out his famous dance moves that were highly appreciated by the fans. The band played a lot of well-known songs like Desire, Worship, Ties, Shine, Eyes Shut and, of course, Kings. One of the highlights was probably when the band surprised the crowd with a medley of Dark Horse and Hotline Bling! I loved the whole atmosphere of the show, everybody was in a great mood, dancing and singing at the top of their lungs. The band even played a new song, which sounded really nice and I can’t wait for it to come out! It was the first show I saw and I could not have asked for a better start of a wonderful day. The only thing I found annoying was that my ears were nearly killed during Border (I was literally standing there pressing my hands on my ears because I was way too close to the speakers). Other than that it was an amazing show and I will definitely see them the next time they come to my country!

Years & Years SZIGET Festival
Years & Years | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

The Neighbourhood

First off: their show was as aesthetically pleasing as their Instagram feed. They used a lot of smoke on stage and I could barely see them but I actually liked that. It added something mysterious to their badass show and definitely separated them from others. I admit that I do not know most of their songs, but they did play a few of my favorites (Afraid, Sweater Weather and R.I.P. 2 My Youth). Vocally, I would say that the singer did a great job. However, I have to admit that I had a hard time understanding every word as the instruments were a lot louder than his mic. I was kind of disappointed by that because I feel like it was really hard to hear what he was singing if you were not familiar with the song or the lyrics. Luckily, there were tons of fans who knew every word to every song, which made the atmosphere a whole lot better. Even though I do not know each track of their albums, I’m still happy I decided to watch their show. If anything, it made me fall in love with them and get interested in their music even more.

The Neighbourhood SZIGET Festival
The Neighbourhood | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

I only caught the last 15 minutes of their show but I am so happy I did. Since I was not really familiar with their music, I had no idea what to expect. The real fans, however, seemed to know exactly that they were in for a treat when they decided to line up in front of the stage. The crowd was very chill and sang along to every song. While I was standing there waiting for SIA’s set, I experienced a jaw-dropping moment when Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds started playing Wonderwall by Oasis. I knew that Noel Gallagher was part of that band, but I did not think he would actually perform that song with his new band mates. Holy. Shit. Guys. I NEVER thought that one day I would be able to watch a live performance of that song. It is such a beautiful classic, a “staple piece”. I was so surprised I nearly cried (no joke) and I will never ever forget that feeling.

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds SZIGET Festival
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

SIA 

Is it even worth writing about SIA? I mean seriously… there are no words to describe a vocalist like her. Her voice is breathtakingly beautiful and I still can’t believe I saw her with my own eyes. She has not toured for years so for her to be a headliner at SZIGET festival is a dream come true. Her performance was just like on TV: she was standing in a corner with a big ass bow on her head while dancers visualized her songs. On that note: have I mentioned that Maddie Ziegler was there too? You know, that gorgeous girl who is unbelievably talented and makes me question life because she is already killing it at such a young age? SHE WAS AMAZING. I heard a lot of people say that they did not enjoy SIA’s set because she was not interacting with the crowd. While that may be true (all she said was “Thank you, thank you very much. You were amazing” after the show) I still think that they could have gone easy on her. Everybody who knows SIA should be familiar with her style of performing songs, especially now that she hides her face from the masses. I expected her show to be just like that, which is why I was not disappointed. Also, have I mentioned that her vocals are OUT OF THIS WORLD?

SIA SZIGET Festival
SIA | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

Conclusion: SZIGET was a blast and I hope I’ll be back next year for the 25th anniversary! You might think that going to a festival on your own is the saddest, weirdest and most pathetic thing to do but you know what? I had an incredible time and experienced lots of amazing moments because I decided to do something that made me happy. I am only 22 years old but I could have missed so many incredible opportunities if I had always waited for my friends to join me and hold my hand along the way. Your happiness should not solely depend on others. Do what makes YOU happy and not what others think would please you.

Don’t worry, I am not ending this blog post in a cheesy, soppy way. I have “funny” (FML) story for you. Right after Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ show there was a huge chaos at the stage because some people were leaving and others started looking for a nice spot to watch SIA’s show. I belonged to the latter group and fought my way through the crowd when I suddenly felt my feet getting wet. At first I thought I stepped on a beer can or something but then I realized that the liquid was warm…

SOME IDIOT PEED ON MY FUCKING FEET.

Bye xx

ps.: go to my Facebook and Instagram page for more photos and videos!

Leave a Reply

