Concert | Rihanna

LOVE.

Attention: The following blog post might contain some spoilers. Stop reading if you haven’t seen Rihanna on her current tour yet. I don’t want to ruin the experience for you! 

If you have known me for years, you know that Rihanna is my favorite singer. I have been listening to her music ever since she released her very first single Pon de Replay. Needless to say I’m BIG fan.

On August 9th she came to Vienna, which marked the third time I saw her perform live. Words can’t describe how amazing the show was. The stage production was absolutely incredible and probably my favorite thing about that night. Rihanna was standing in front of a foam wall that was slowly coming down. I honestly don’t know how to describe it, but you can scroll through the pictures and see for yourself.

She played a good variety of old classics as well as new songs from her latest album ANTI. My favorite performances included Woo, Needed Me, Stay, Bitch Better Have My Money Four Five Seconds and Love On The Brain (she k i l l e d the last one!!). Compared to her LOUD and DIAMONDS world tour, I’d say that this one was by far the most laid-back and chilled one. While there are a lot of people who did not enjoy her show, I loved every second of it. She does have a specific style when it comes to doing her concerts (or anything else, to be completely honest) – some love it, others don’t. That’s okay, everybody has their own taste and expectations when they go to a concert. Rihanna does everything differently, which is one of the main reasons she is as popular and successful as she is. If you don’t dig it, don’t go to her show. There are plenty of others who find joy in her presence : ).

Instead of bringing The Weeknd on tour, she was joined by R3hab and Big Sean who were both great. I missed half of R3hab’s set, which is why I don’t have much to report – sorry! Big Sean’s show, on the other hand, was very enjoyable. It was my first time watching a rapper perform live and while I was not familiar with most of his songs, I still had a lot of fun and completely lost track of time.

IMG_0853
Big Sean | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
image1
Rihanna | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Rihanna ANTI World Tour Vienna
Rihanna | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
image2
Rihanna | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
Leave a Reply

