New Release | Cold Water by Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber & MØ

LOVE.

Today is a good day, guys. A very good day. Major Lazer FINALLY released their new song Cold Water and it features no other than Biebs and MØ.

Major Lazer Cold Water feat Justin Bieber & MO Single Cover Artwork
Image via twitter.com/justinbieber

If you had told me a couple years ago that Justin Bieber and MØ would sing a song together, I would not have believed you. In fact, I don’t think that the teenager version of me would have liked it. However, as I got older, I realized that that’s the beauty of music. It’s about different artists coming together and sharing their passion for the one thing they love the most, regardless of what genre they usually perform or listen to.

Major Lazer did a fantastic job producing this song, I love how it compliments both Justin’s and MØ’s voices. They gave the singers the chance to create something new without losing themselves, which deserves a lot of respect. Also, Ed Sheeran (♡) co-wrote this song with Jamie Scott and Benny Blanco, which is basically the cherry on top. I think that the lyrics are going to play a big part in this song becoming a huge hit. Like, there is no way one could stay completely unaffected by

“So take a deep breath and let it go / you shouldn’t be drowning on your own”

(…)

“And although time might take us into different places / I will still be patient with you”

(…)

“And I hope you know / I won’t let go ♡”

(…)

“And I wanna lay with you ’til I’m old / You shouldn’t be fighting on your own”

A minor detail that I’m absolutely in love with is when Justin sings “I won’t let go”, MØ goes “You won’t let go”. It’s a tiny change that can barely be heard but to me it shows that the singers are acknowledging each other’s presence, which is kind of what the song is about.

So? What do you think? Is it worth a listen? I got up at 9.00am and the song has been on repeat ever since. No joke. It’s already in my Summer 2016 playlist on Spotify, enjoy:

Leave a Reply

