In the Spotlight | Bahari

HI.

I pick the artists for my “In the Spotlight” blog posts very carefully, which is why I haven’t written one of these in a while. Luckily, this changes today because I would like to introduce you all to a band that first caught my attention two years ago.

I’m talking about Bahari, a three-piece girl band that’s about to put a spell on all of you.

Bahari-Dancing-On-The-Sun-EP-Artwork
Image via bahari-music.com

Before you ask: 1) Bahari is in Swahili and means ‘ocean’ and 2) no, they are not sisters. You’re welcome.

I discovered the band two years ago when they released a song called Wild Ones. Ohhh my God. That song was my jam for weeks! I instantly knew there was something special about them and have since been waiting for new music. Well, on May 13th they released their debut EP called Dancing On The Sun, which they will perform live when they go on tour with Selena Gomez. Holy crap. If that’s not an achievement, I don’t know what is.

If you listen to their EP, you will soon get some beachy vibes (yes, that’s a thing now) thanks to the mix of their folk/pop songs. One of the songs has even some rock elements to it, which I  think is pretty cool, because it reflects the girls’ love for diversity. What’s even cooler, though, is that even after combining so many genres, the trio still managed to put together an EP that’s sonically cohesive. They found their own, unique sound, which is very joyful, melodic and rhythmic. It makes you want to clap along and dance with your friends (preferably on the beach).

I had a good feeling about Bahari the second I heard their track Wild Ones. While the song’s not featured on their five-track EP, I’m sure it’s what brought the girls closer. There’s no one like them out there at the moment, which is one of the many reasons why I think that are going to gain lots of success very, very soon. I chose Bahari as my “In the Spotlight” artist, because I believe in their unique sound and overall talent. Can’t wait to hear their music on (Austrian) radio and be like: told ya.

Leave a Reply

