Review | Under Bridges That You Built For Me by Causes

HELLO THERE.

On May 20th my favorite Dutch band Causes released their debut album Under Bridges That You Built For Me worldwide. Wooooorldwiiiiideeee. If you read my blog regularly (which you totally should btw) you’ll probably remember the band as I already fangirled over them back in October!

Today I am going to review Causes’ album and hopefully turn y’all into fans like myself. Here we go:

Causes-Album-Under-Bridges-That-You-Built-For-Me-Cover
Image via causesmusic.com

Before I talk about all things music I want you all to look at the cover artwork very closely. At first I thought it was just a beautiful, colorful print but the more I look at it the more I think that the circle is actually made of legs. Either that or I’m drunk – you decide.

Alright, so according to iTunes, Causes’ music is Pop but it sounds way more Alternative to me. There might be some Pop elements to it, yes, but I wouldn’t say that’s the overall genre. As for the songs, they all sound quite mellow and laid-back. If you’re looking for music that you can bang your head and shake your ass to, then this record is not for you. If, however, you are on a hunt for a timeless album that puts you at ease every time you listen to it then you should definitely invest in this one.

The album consists of 11 tracks, including their single Teach Me How To Dance With You.  Each song on the album is catchy and different in its own way but together they establish this very distinct, unique sound that I’d recognize anywhere in a heartbeat. It can take years to establish a sound that will make people associate with certain artists so to have that recognition factor from the start is enviable.

For those of you who prefer songs that are a bit more uptempo, I recommend To The River, Walk On Water (♡), The Sinking Ship and All For Us.

For those of you are open-minded, curious and generally cool people, I recommend listening to the whole album. I buy a lot of music and this record is by far one of the best purchases ever. It’s one those albums that I will listen to 10 years from now and love just as much as I did on the very first day. No, I’m not exaggerating.

Like Causes’ Facebook page for updates or join their super exclusive club!

Listen to Under Bridges That You Built For Me here:

Leave a Reply

