Concert | Troye Sivan

AKADFSFDSKFJ.

Wow, just wow. On May 7th I FINALLY saw Troye Sivan on his Blue Neighbourhood Tour at the Ottakringer Brauerei in Vienna. He was supported by the lovely Astrid S, which made the night absolutely perfect. I’m a huge fan of both of them so seeing two of my favorites the same night was one of the best concert experiences ever.

When I entered the venue there was a woman – probably part of the management team – who said “Troye’s in a good mood today”, which automatically put a smile on my face. Once I was inside I picked up my photo pass so that I could officially take my camera with me and take photos for the blog – thank you, Arcadia Live!

As I mentioned before, Astrid S was the opener that night – and she freaking killed it. Unfortunately, she wasn’t feeling very well but that didn’t keep her from performing. She gave everything she could and I appreciate the fact that she decided to at least try and sing a few songs instead of canceling her performance completely. The softness and clarity of her voice are absolutely beautiful and they underline the unique sound of her music. The crowd was excited to see her and she was clearly surprised by all the support. I have been a fan of her for about two years now I am so damn thrilled that she is finally releasing her debut EP on May 20th!

After Astrid S’ set, fans joined forces to sing Adele’s Hello from the top of their lungs while they were waiting for Troye to come on stage. To me, it was one the highlights of that night and you can watch it here.

At 9 pm Troye Sivan came on stage and put on one of the best performances I have ever seen. Just like Astrid, he was overwhelmed by all the energy and love he received from the fans as he had no idea people would turn up like that. Fans were screaming every single word of every single song and the atmosphere was lovely throughout the entire night. Troye’s vocals were insane; it was like listening to the recorded version of Blue Neighbourhood. I have been watching his YouTube videos for years and I can’t tell you how weird yet normal, comforting and familiar it felt to finally see him jumping around on stage in front of me.

Besides Troye’s magical voice, outstanding performance and infectious smile, it was his interaction with the crowd that made the night so special. He explained his outfit choice, played the accent challenge, pulled out a water gun and flirted with 1000 people. One of my favorite moments, however, was when he explained how he wrote Heaven (feat. Betty Who). That song means so damn much to me. Troye’s perspective may be completely different from mine but that doesn’t mean I can’t relate to some parts of the songs. The lyrics are absolutely beautiful and I hope that one day I will write songs as meaningful and encouraging as the ones Troye has written on Blue Neighbourhood.

I am ending this blog post by saying that the show was authentic, interactive, and overall mind-blowing. Hopefully he’ll keep his promise and come back to Vienna. Troye Sivan and Astrid S were a great team and it was an honor to be part of two people’s journey that is about to get wild.

DSCN2181
Astrid S | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
DSCN2196
Astrid S | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
DSCN2202
Troye Sivan | © Henriette Jessica Kádár
DSCN2223
Troye Sivan | © Henriette Jessica Kádár

Leave a Reply

