Current Obsession | WHERE THE HELL ARE MY FRIENDS by LANY

GUYS.

Every once in a while I stumble across a song that I can’t help but fall in love with. Sometimes it’s a singer’s voice that haunts me in my sleep, sometimes it’s the relatable lyrics and sometimes – sometimes it’s the whole package.

Last month LANY (you should know them by now cause I blogged about them in January) released their new song called WHERE THE HELL ARE MY FRIENDS and it’s perfect in every single way:

12800390_955521951196419_8409246685047491633_n
Image via facebook.com/thisislany

Before we talk about the song itself, can we please just take a moment to look at the cover artwork? It’s simple and unique AND it’s a perfect representation of the song. I love, love, LOVE it.

But I get it. You’re here for the music. Let’s talk about it then: WHERE THE HELL ARE MY FRIENDS is by far one of the most relatable songs I’ve ever listened to. Even though the lyrics are very simple and repetitive it’s one of those story of my life songs, which is probably why I love it so much. It’s got this super chill and laid-back vibe and I love the distinct beat, which can be heard very clearly throughout the whole song.

As I mentioned at the beginning, my favorite thing about this song is the lyrics. If I had to write a song about my current life situation it would probably sound something like WHERE THE HELL ARE MY FRIENDS. No matter what place I’m in or how old I am I’ve always felt quite isolated from anyone else and I used to question the power of pretty much every friendship I’ve had. As I got older I somehow gained some confidence that helped me realize I wasn’t as alone and unwanted as I thought but sometimes I just can’t help but fall back into old habits. Those are the moments where this song speaks to me.

Like I said, the chorus repeats itself over and over again but these are my favorite lines:

Where the hell are my friends / home alone, not again / friday, wine, and the internet/ the only love I seem to get

And I don’t, and I don’t, and I don’t know why / I don’t have anyone on a weekend night

40 million in California / no one cares if I stay

I’m not gonna go into detail about why these lyrics speak to me the way they do but if there’s a slight chance that you’re able to relate to the message as much as I do then please make sure to check it out – I added it to my Spring 2016 playlist on Spotify!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

