Artist of the Month | The 1975

HOLY FASKJFLKSD.

I’m back with a new ‘Artist of the Month’ blog post for y’all (I skipped it last month cause ANTI came out and I couldn’t handle the world).

Alright, so if you know anything about me then it should be no surprise that The 1975 is one of my favorite bands! Their music has a very distinct sound which makes them one of a kind. The visuals they use for promotion reflect both, the music and the band. The album cover and teaser pics of lyrics/songs have a very similar design so if you should decide to look back on them in the future you’ll immediately know that they represent the era of their second album, which is called

I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it

VDK8QBqr
Image via twitter.com/the1975

First off: can we all just take a moment and appreciate the beautiful album cover? I mean seriously… LOOK AT IT. If any of you are familiar with their previous music you’ll recognize a similarity between this artwork and the one of their debut album (The 1975), which looks pretty much the same except the colors scheme is different.

The new album came out today but they have released a couple songs prior to today’s release to give fans a little taste of what the new record would sound like. Week after week they released a new song on iTunes and gave interviews at BBC Radio 1 to promote their new music. Yesterday fans all over the world were able to listen to their live gig in LA which aired on Beats 1 (yes, I listened to it and yes, it was amazing). Basically, what I’m saying is: The 1975 made sure that every single person knew that their new album was coming. I was ready. Social Media was ready. Everyone was ready.

Usually this is the part where I use all sorts of adjectives to describe both, the artists and the record but I’m pretty crap at this whole ‘professional journalism’ thing so all I’ll say is that I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it is a brilliant album that will leave the fans (and critics!) breathless. That’s it. That’s all I’ll say. Go and listen to it, you’ll see exactly what I mean. Also, when you’re done, make sure you come back and tell me what your favorite songs are. Mine are Ugh!, She’s American, Somebody Else and The Sound.

ps.: today is one of those days where literally everyone is releasing new music so here’s a little roundup: Macklemore’s new album This Unruly Mess I’ve Made is out, Zedd teamed up with Aloe Blacc and created Candyman, Fifth Harmony are back with a new single called Work From Home, Hailee Steinfeld is releasing a new version of her song Rock Bottom (featuring DNCE!), The Dunwells have a new album called Light Up In The Sky and XYLO finally put out America, which is their first EP.

Leave a Reply

