Current Obsession | Chewing Gum by Nina Nesbitt

OH. MY. GOD.

Nina Nesbitt is back, you hear me? She’s back with a new single called Chewing Gum (which appears on her new EP Modern Love, coming out Feb 5th) and I’m telling you right now: this song is her best one yet. It’s upbeat, it’s fun, and it’s accurate. If you listen to the lyrics you’ll soon realise that they’re sort of a reflection of today’s society (in terms of relationship).

It’s a reflection of how people (mainly the ones in their twenties) date, love and approach each other. It’s less about trying to find that one true love when you’re a teenager and more about going out, having fun, experimenting with people of all gender and being aware of the fact that what once was considered as a naughty behaviour is now getting more acceptance. The general understanding of commitment seems to have changed and is now more modern and diverse.

modern love
Image via twitter.com/ninanesbitt

The video, which came out Jan 13th matches the lyrics and message of this song, which was a pleasant surprise. I feel like there are a lot of songs out there that give producers the chance to create music videos that really compliment a song and it’s sad to see how much potential is wasted these days (or maybe those videos are simply on a whole new level of art and I just don’t get it lol).

“Oh, how come you still think that you’re the one / Baby, I’m just chewing gum until the flavour’s gone”

I don’t know if it’s just me but I do think that the lyrics are not to be underestimated. They come across as quite dominant and confident and that’s something that I’m looking forward to hear more of this year (not only from Nina but also from other artists)! I love that it celebrates independance and free will, which is something that I find both, comforting and empowering.

I truly believe that this song is going to be a very successful one and I cannot wait for this to be played on the radio! In the meanwhile, make sure you check it out here.

Leave a Reply

