Top 5 | Predictions for 2016

LISTEN.

Guys, do you know that feeling when you tell your friends to listen to a certain song cause it’s gonna be a huge hit but they’re all like ‘naaah, it’s average, it’s alright’ and then BOOM a couple months later that exact song is all over the radio and they all come to you saying ‘omg, check this out, you’re gonna love it!’ Does that ever happen to you? Because it happens to me all. the. time. However, when I tell them that I’ve been listening to that song for months they never believe me… so I decided to present you my top five predictions for 2016:

Artist | Halsey

I don’t think I will ever not talk about Halsey. Her songwriting skills are EVERYTHING. I love the honesty in her lyrics. I love that she writes concept records instead of picking songs that have the most potential to become a hit. I love the fact that she’s accomplished so many things in such a short time. I love that she’s polarizing – you either love her or hate her, there’s no in-between. So far, her debut album BADLANDS is my favorite release of 2015.

Song | Here

I have been listening to this song ever since it came out, which was over six months ago. It’s a song that pretty much everyone can relate to and I think that’s the kind of music that ends up being successful. People like to know that they’re not alone. They find comfort in knowing that whatever they’re going through, there’s at least one person who feels the same way, which is kinda calming. That’s exactly the feeling you’ll get after listening to this song. It’s already gotten some attention in the US and it’s only a matter of time til it’ll be all over the radio stations in Austria. Alessia Cara? You rock!

Song | Hide Away

Wanna know the story of my life? Then listen to this song. I CANNOT wait for this song to finally be on the radio!! Daya performed it on The Late Late Show with James Corden and I could not be happier to be honest. Seeing underrated artists finally get the recognition they deserve is just beautiful, especially when they release a song that speaks to so many people.

Artist | Troye Sivan

Troye’s music is already approved by Adele, Taylor Swift and Sam Smith. What else could a newcomer ask for? The thing I love most about Troye is that he uses his music to speak to the underdogs. He talks to those who are afraid of opening up and becoming their true selves because society makes them feel like being different is not okay/accepted. Troye’s music changes people’s perception of (pop) culture, society and youth.

Song | Boys Like You

This song is such a great example of how amazing music can sound like if truly gifted artists come together and share their talents. Besides the fact that Ariana Grande and Meghan Trainor sound perfect together, the chorus of the song is just super catchy. I don’t mean it a bad way but to me, it sounds like a typical radio song. It’s only a matter of time til you all fall in love with it, you’ll see.

Leave a Reply

