Jess Recommends | 7 Years by Lukas Graham

I’m back.

As some of you know I was in Stockholm this past weekend and even though I love getting to know new cities, people and their culture, there’s one more thing that always catches my attention: music. I’m always curious to find out what songs/artists dominate the charts in different countries. I usually focus on the music that’s played in the US, UK and Austria so I’m very happy that I discovered some new songs while I was in Stockholm. There’s one song, in particular, that caught my attention:

7 Years

11406936_850159975070915_6475654707551476802_n
Image via facebook.com/LukasGraham

I wish I could remember the exact moment I heard this song. All I know is that I was probably talking to my friend, figuring out what we wanted to do and see in Stockholm. I was distracted and therefore not really able to focus on the lyrics of the song but there was something about it that made me love it.

Now that I’ve listened to it a couple times I must admit that the message is absolutely beautiful. As per usual, every one interprets a song differently. To me, it’s about living life to the fullest. It’s about taking chances, going for your dreams and being brave enough to leave those who  drag you down behind. It’s about overcoming the obstacles of life and appreciating the people that have been day for you since day one.

I’m sure that this song will be all over the radio soon but until then, make sure you watch the lyric video for 7 Years by Lukas Graham.

Leave a Reply

