New Release | Delirium by Ellie Goulding

FINALLY.

Today’s a good day, guys. A very good day.

Reason #1: I FINALLY passed an exam that I had already failed three times before. I can’t remember the last time I was this nervous and stressed-out (I cried tears of joy afterwards) and to be honest, I’m still shaking a little bit but I passed and for now that’s really all that matters.
Reason #2: Ellie Goulding’s third album Delirium is FINALLY out! Say whaaaaat.

Image via instagram.com/elliegoulding
Image via instagram.com/elliegoulding

Alright, where do I even start? November is a month full of new music releases and I’m so freaking excited!!! Ellie Goulding released her highly anticipated album Delirium, which I am listening to as I’m writing these lines. First off: I’m so relieved. I’ve been a fan of Ellie for years, I listened to her music when none of my friends would cause they hadn’t heard of her before, I freaked out when she came to Austria last year and I sure as hell freaked out when I found out that she’ll be back in Vienna next year (yes, I bought tickets cause duh). Even though I could never be disappointed in her music, I’ll admit that I was a bit worried when she released a couple of tracks ahead of the album. I only liked half of them and while I appreciate this new direction she’s going to, I was nervous about how the rest of the album would turn out.

Well, I am happy to announce that Delirium is EVERYTHING ANYONE COULD EVER ASK FOR.

The album is very uptempo, joyful and it lifts your mood immediately. The songs are a lot of fun and I think it’s safe to say that she’s in a much better place now then she was back when she released her second album named Halcyon. Even her love songs have great beats and catchy choruses that make you wanna dance the pain away. When she released Love Me Like You Do (which I refused to buy until today lol) I was a bit worried that she was drifting off into this mainstream pop world where every song sounds exactly the same. Don’t get me wrong – I love LMLYD! But for someone who fell in love with her first record Lights, I was very curious to see what her new album would sound like. It took me a while to realize that no matter what kind of genre Ellie goes for, I will support her music no matter what because the reason I fell in love with her in the first place is her breathtakingly beautiful, unique and angelic voice. It’s recognizable and that’s what I look for in artists. Her vocals are definitely a love/hate kinda thing but I just love when someone uses the softness of their voice to deliver a song’s message. I once read a quote that said something along the lines of “The quiet ones have the loudest minds”.

I was thinking about the perfect way to end this post and I think I found it. Ellie Goulding posted a photo on Instagram with the caption “A new era has begun”. Well, she’s right. This lady’s got much more in store for us and I cannot wait to be a part of it.

ps.: I’m wearing a t-shirt that I bought at her show last year – what a coincidence!

Leave a Reply

