Artist of the Month | Raury

Artist of the Month

HELL YEAH.

It’s the end of October, which means it’s time for me to share my favorite artist with y’all.

Raury

Image via twitter.com/Raury

Image via twitter.com/Raury

I first found out about Raury when I read one Halsey’s interviews a couple months ago. She was asked what kind of artists she thought were going to blow up (sth like that) and she mentioned Raury. Now, as you all know I LOVE HALSEY, so if she recommends artists I listen to them. I fell in a love with a song called Cigarette Song, which is on his debut EP called Indigo Child.

Six months later, Raury released his debut album All We Need. Not to sound cheesy or anything, but that record really is all we need. While there are many artists out there who record songs that have a deep, meaningful message, most of the time those kind of songs aren’t in the center of attention. Their importance gets overshadowed by songs about love and partying. It’s almost like people don’t give them a chance cause most of the albums focus on the typical mainstream shit which is why the one song, that’s actually meant to make a difference, doesn’t get the chance to shine. And this is where Raury’s music comes in. Here’s why I love it so much:

The majority of his songs have a social, political and cultural relevance. He chooses to sing about topics that not many people talk about, let alone sing. He sheds light on the things society sucks at and speaks (sings) nothing but the stone cold truth. He challenges people by making them listen to a record that points out all the things that make us feel uncomfortable. The lyrics will make you realize all the things the media does not talk about because they’re too afraid to take a stand. They will open your eyes and your heart cause that’s the only way you’ll finally take a moment to look around and pay attention to the things that are about to crumble if we don’t get our asses up and change the world before it’s too late. If you’re someone who turns their back on reality then this music is not for you. I you’re someone who’s willing to fight for their rights, then you should give this a chance. Listen to the lyrics and you’ll soon realize the importance of taking action and sticking up for what you believe in.

Raury’s been getting lots of attention lately and I cannot wait to hear his music on the radio. It might take a while (as per usual) but it’ll be worth the wait. Trust me.

ps.: my favorite song is Forbidden Knowledge (feat. Big K.R.I.T.) – LISTEN TO IT.

Leave a comment