Top 5 | My Favorite “Summer” Tracks 2015

Guysssss.

Summer is nearly over *sob* so I thought I’d share my top 5 summer tracks with y’all before it’s too late! I’ve been playing the following songs on repeat and it’s gotten to that point where I feel like, if my iPod could speak, it’d thank me for finally listening to something else now.

Alright, let’s get started then! Oh, and just so you know: it’s quite unlikely that you’ll find these songs in a summer related playlist. They are not those typical let’s-get-naked-and-party-all-day kind of summer songs as some of you might imagine. These songs are simply the ones that I’ve been listening to non-stop this summer.

X Ambassadors | Renegades

Guys, you know when you listen to a song that evokes this certain feeling inside you? It’s this mysterious nervousness that ends up being a super positive, relaxed mood once the song’s over. I’ve been listening to quite a few acoustic songs this summer but if I had to choose one that stands out the most then I would definitely pick Renegades. The lyrics are quite simple and repetitive but I got a feeling that a lot of people are able to relate to the message (and that’s what matters most, if you ask me!).

COIN | Run

One word: obsessed. Even though this song is not necessarily associated with summer, I couldn’t stop listening to it. The chorus gets me every time! I’m sure the lyrics can be interpreted in many different ways but to me, they are about a person who’s an over-achiever and therefore doesn’t hold back until the goal is reached. While there’s nothing wrong with being competitive and ambitious, I feel like this sort of attitude can lead to broken friendships and relationships. Rather than trying to be successful and in control of everything, it might be a good idea to let things go and, well, run. I think the reason I love this song so much is the fact that I’m actually the complete opposite. I was never someone who ran away from things instead of facing them but recently I’ve been wondering what happened if…

Tori Kelly | Nobody Love

I don’t really know what to say cause both, the song and the artist speak for themselves tbh. If you don’t know who Tori Kelly then you’ve probably been living under a rock. She’s by far one of the most talented artists out there right now. Her songs are really catchy and her voice is definitely not from this earth!! This is probably why I love Nobody Love so much. It really shows off her vocal range and the high note she hits towards the end of the song leaves you wanting more. I feel like Nobody Love is this really cute I-shouldn’t-be-with-you-but-I-love-you-so-much-it’s-driving-me-crazy love song and who doesn’t love a nice flirt for the summer?

BEAU | Stay Wild

If there’s one song that surprised me this summer, it’s probably this one. I usually don’t listen to Austrian artists as the Austrian music industry is quite, uhm, flat. There’s not much diversity and there are not many artists that stand out to me. BEAU, however, released this super fun, laid-back song that makes me wanna have a bonfire and just chill out with my friends on the beach. I feel like the lyrics are quite simple and straight-forward but sometimes it’s the simplicity of the song that makes you wanna listen to it! I’m gonna be honest with you: until a couple of days ago I had absolutely no idea that the song I’ve been in love with the whole summer is sung by an Austrian band. The potential of this song is definitely underrated.

Brandyn Burnette feat. LaRaisha | Stand Down (2150 AD)

You know when you listen to a song for the first time and within the first ten seconds you already know that it’s gonna end up in your playlist? Stand Down is one of those songs that makes me wanna do two things at the same time: 1) chill out 2) have a wild night with my friends. I listened to this song quite a lot while writing my final paper for university and for some reason it really managed to motivate me in a way that resulted in me being completely focused on my paper. As soon as I took a break, however, I turned up the volume and danced like a weirdo. The reason I like this song is because it’s so diverse that it manages to put me two very different moods, which is quite unusual if you ask me.

If you like this little selection of “summer” songs then make sure you check out my playlist on Spotify called Summer 2015.

Leave a Reply

