New Release | BADLANDS by Halsey

OH MY GOD.

Guys, this is my first blog post and I can’t remember the last time I was this excited. I don’t know what it is about August 28th but I feel like literally everyone’s releasing their new album/single today and even though all of today’s releases are super duper exciting, there’s one record that I’ve been excited about way before its title was announced. I’m so fucking happy that Halsey’s debut album BADLANDS is finally out!

Image via iamhalsey.com
Image via iamhalsey.com

Like I said at the beginning, I cannot remember the last time I was this excited for an album to come out. Unlike most of the artists out there, Halsey wrote a concept record, which is probably one of the reasons why this album is so damn unique. To me, every song is about a different phase of her life but if you listen to the whole record, you’ll realise that each song is a chapter of an even bigger chapter of her life and part 1 is called BADLANDS. I might me totally wrong but to be honest, I think one the most beautiful things about music is that it can be interpreted in numerous ways and that there’s no right or wrong. Of course there’s an intented interpretation, a story behind everything but at the end of the day I think it all comes down to the various emotions and memories that are triggered in each and everyone of us.

Because I can’t get enough of Halsey, I bought the deluxe version of the album which consists of 16 breathtakingly beautiful, very well-written songs that cause my jaw to drop every fucking time. When I thought about writing this review (okay, it’s hardly a review it’s basically just me fangirling over Halsey) I planned on sharing my favorite songs with y’all. You know when you listen to an album and you love pretty much every song but then there are like two or three songs that you just can’t really wrap your head around, no matter how many times you listen to them? Well, this ain’t the case here. I’m obsessed with literally every single song on this record. They’re all very different but each song shares that special Halsey element, that one thing that makes people fall in love with her as a vocalist.

To me, Halsey’s a strong, independent, young female artist who just can’t be bothered with giving even the slightest shit about anything. She says what she wants and whenver she wants, she shoots a video to piss off her record label and she continues to prove everyone wrong. She doesn’t apologize and she definitely doesn’t hold back. BADLANDS is the perfect reflection of her feelings, her attitude, her mental state, her past, her future and more importantly: her true self. And even though her honesty shines through the tracks of her album, I can’t get rid of the thought that there’s still so much more for us to discover. At least that’s the feeling I get while listening to her album. This is the feeling that I got when I listened to her first song, Ghost, which was way over a year ago. This is the feeling that I get when I see her name on Twitter. This is the feeling that I get when I read her interviews. This is the feeling that I get when I watch her live performances on YouTube. This is the feeling that I get when I read all of the comments on social media. This is the feeling that I get when I think of one of the most unique, experimental, brave and unapologetic artists out there: Halsey.

I don’t know about you guys, but when it comes to music the most important thing to me is the lyrics. The reason I fell in love with Halsey is the fact that she’s a truly gifted songwriter. I feel like there’s only a handful of them and I cannot wait for her to receive the recognition she deserves as a lyricist. Therefore, I’d like to end this post by sharing my favorite lyrics with y’all as I go through the whole track list (ps.: I tend to hear the weirdest things sometimes so if the lyrics aren’t 100% correct – DON’T JUDGE ME, thanks xx)!

BADLANDS (Deluxe)

1| Castle: “There’s an old man sitting on a throne and saying that I probably shouldn’t be so mean.”

2| Hold Me Down: “Selfish, taking what I want and call it mine.”

3| New Americana: “Young James Dean, some say he looks just like his father but he could never love somebody’s daughter (…) What kind of bubble gum have you been blowing lately?”

4| Drive: “Overanalyze again, would it really kill you if we kissed?”

5| Hurricane: “I let him climb inside my body and held him captive with my kiss.”

6| Roman Holiday: “And the timing’s never right but for now let’s get away on a roman holiday.”

7| Ghost: “My ghost, where’d you go? What happened to the soul that you used to be?”

8| Colors: “You touched me and suddenly I was a lilac sky and you decided purple just wasn’t for you.”

9| Colors pt. II

10| Strange Love: “And I’m gonna write it all down, and I’m gonna sing it on stage but I don’t have to fucking tell you anything, anything.”

11| Coming Down: “‘Cause he’s off to pay his crimes and he’s got not time for mine.”

12| Haunting: “I was as pure as a river but now I think I’m possessed.”

13| Gasoline: “Do you call yourself a fucking hurricane like me? Pointing fingers ’cause you’d never take the blame like me?”

14| Control: “I’m meaner than my demons (…) Goddamn right, you should be scared of me. Who is in control?”

15| Young God: “And I’ve been sitting on the bottom of a swimming pool for a while now,  drowning my thoughts out, the sounds (…) And if you wanna go to heaven you should fuck me tonight”

16| I Walk the Line: “I find it very, very easy to be true.”

Do yourselves a favor and check out BADLANDS. I promise you it won’t take long until her music’s on the radio and while everybody’s gonna be freaking out, we’ll all be sitting here like…

p.s.: Remember when I said everyone’s releasing their music today? Check out Ella Eyre’s debut album Feline, The Weeknd’s album Beauty Behind the Madness, Alessia Cara’s EP Four Pink Walls (she actually leaked her own songs like 2 days ago!!) and Justin Bieber’s new single What Do You Mean?

Leave a Reply

